Photography | That Time Tabitha & I Went to Belgium

Mid-February, or there abouts, me and my trusty travel companion Tabitha jumped on a very fast train and travelled to the continent via Eurostar to Brussels, the capital city of Belgium. I live a stone’s throw away from Ebbsfleet, so even though the train left at ridiculous AM (7:20am) we were still able to get there with plenty of time. After arriving in Brussels we went onto the Metro and made our way to the Atomium.

The Atomium was really the only thing that had initially interested me about Brussels. I know that a lot of people go there to see Manneken Pis, but that statue had never really interested me, even as we approached it, with the crowd swelling around it, taking it in turns to stand beneath it,  I didn’t find as much excitement as I did upon seeing the Atomium, the gargantuan (and I think that’s fair to say when it height reaches 102 metres) structure originally built in 1958 for the World’s Fair, which, until then, I had only seen in the pages of an encyclopaedia. That’s one of the things I love to do, to see in real life the things I could only really see in two dimensions as a child.

We walked around quite a bit that day, casually getting lost but not so much that we couldn’t find our way back to something familiar. At times, looking into chocolate shops and casually bumping into giant Smurfs riding giant mushrooms (In the photos below) In addition to walking we also made full use of our Metro cards. Tabitha was the navigator for this, it’s strange how from an outside view the London Underground must look so confusing but when I go to a foreign country and look at their underground transport system (for the a while at least) I find myself somewhat bewildered.

We visited European Parliament, the Cathedral of St. Michael, the Brussels Town Hall and a pub that serves the largest selection of beer (over 2,000 I’ll have you know). It was an awesome day, I got my passport stamped. Also, my phone didn’t really work out there so it was really nice to have a day of disconnect. You never realise how tired you are until you sit back down on the Eurostar home.

On this trip I took my Canon EOS 50D with the Sigma 18-50mm f2.8 lens, getting a load of photos and thankfully, due to the MagicLantern software installed I was able to get quite a bit of video footage also, which was uploaded to my personal Vimeo Account. There are 40 images in this post.

Map

Map

Tabitha & a Map

Tabitha & a Map

Eurostar

Eurostar

Metro

Metro

Metro

Metro

Atomium

Atomium

Atomium

Atomium

Tabitha

Tabitha

Brussels With Tabitha 09

Tin Tin

Tin Tin

Tin Tin

Tin Tin

Brussels With Tabitha 12

Manneken Pis

Manneken Pis

Brussels With Tabitha 14

Tin Tin

Tin Tin

Brussels With Tabitha 16

Horse & Carriage

Horse & Carriage

Brussels Town Hall

Brussels Town Hall

Brussels With Tabitha 19 Brussels With Tabitha 20

Delirum, Brussels

Delirum, Brussels

Tabitha

Tabitha

Delirum, Brussels

Delirum, Brussels

Brussels With Tabitha 24 Brussels With Tabitha 25 Brussels With Tabitha 26

Metro

Metro

Metro

Metro

Tabitha & a Map

Tabitha & a Map

Brussels With Tabitha 30 Brussels With Tabitha 31

Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula

Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula

Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula

Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula

Smurfs

Smurfs

Brussels With Tabitha 38

Metro (hahaha)

Brussels With Tabitha 35 Brussels With Tabitha 36 Brussels With Tabitha 37 Brussels With Tabitha 39

Eurostar

Eurostar

One response to “Photography | That Time Tabitha & I Went to Belgium

Leave a Reply

